On this Day in History: 1863- Lincoln Signs Emancipation Proclamation

On January 1, 1863, President Abraham Lincoln put his signature on the Emancipation Proclamation. Many people believe that the Proclamation was a law abolishing slavery, but in fact it was not.

The Proclamation was actually just an executive order that proclaimed the freedom of the slaves in the remaining 10 Confederate states. It did not outlaw slavery or make the freed slaves citizens, although it did allow them to join the Union Army.

It is estimated that only 20,000 to 50,000 slaves (those in areas where the rebellion had already been subdued) were freed immediately, as the Proclamation was unenforceable in the remaining Confederate states. It took a number of years before the last of the estimated 4 million slaves were freed.

Click on the image of the full Proclamation below to view the full size version.

5 thoughts on “On this Day in History: 1863- Lincoln Signs Emancipation Proclamation”

  1. Hello I am so delighted I found your blog, I really found you by mistake, while I was searching on Askjeeve for something else, Anyways I am here now and would
    just like to say many thanks for a fantastic post and a all round enjoyable blog (I also
    love the theme/design), I don’t have time to look over it all at the
    moment but I have book-marked it and also included your RSS feeds, so when
    I have time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the excellent
    job.

    1. Haha I’m glad you stumbled here and enjoyed it! And definitely not famous but I do it to benefit the people so comments like this are the best!

      Hope you’ll come back and visit again sometime 🙂

Leave a Reply

